There are many people who want to sell their iPhone so that they can buy next generation’s iPhone. But before you sell that iPhone, it is very important to delete all your personal data from it.  There are many people who sell their iPhone without deleting their personal data from it.

For some people, the whole is on their phone. You will probably don’t want to hand over the phone to some other person without deleting your personal data as it includes your emails, contacts, photos, videos, music and other personal stuff.  There are some circumstances in which you want to delete your iPhone data and settings. These circumstances are:

  • When you are selling your iPhone
  • When the phone is sent for repair and you don’t want your personal data
  • When your phone is so messed up so that it needs to be erased and set up when it scratch.

So, before selling your iPhone to other people, you should follow the steps below so that every important data from your phone has been wiped away.

Also Read: How to Recover Deleted or Lost Emails?

Step 1: Make a Backup of iPhone data– If you selling your iPhone and getting a new iPhone, then you have to make sure that your old one data is backed up so that when you buy a new iPhone, you may restore your old data to that new phone and also you don’t have to start from scratch.

It depends on your phone that which version of iOS you are using and according to that, you will either do a backup or use the iCloud service. This service a backup everything which you need but it may not support backup to the iCloud, so it’s better to use a backup.

Step 2: Delete all your iPhone’s data and settings- You obviously don’t want that whoever gets your phone, can have access to your personal data so it better to delete all the personal data and make the phone clean. You can follow the below steps to clean the data from your phone:

Go to the menu and click on the “settings“-> then click on “General” settings from the menu and choose the “reset” menu> and at last “Erase all the content and settings”.



This can be drastic step because deleting all the important data like music, e-mail, apps and setting from your phone is very difficult. You can delete your iPhone data when the phone is synced or by onscreen commands. You can choose any one but always begin with syncing your iPhone to your computer because this creates a backup of your data. By doing this you can easily restore your data and settings to a new phone.

How to use SafeEraser Software?

Step 1 – Launch the program and attach your iPhone/iPad/iPod touch

After installing the program, run Wondershare SafeEraser on your computer. Then get the iOS device connected with a USB cable to the computer. As the program identifies your device, you can see the main windows.

Step 2 – Select type of data erasing

From the main window, you can see some information about the device on the left side. And on the right side, there are two kinds of data erasing ways:

ERASE ALL DATA ON DEVICE: Erase entire data and settings permanently.

ERASE DELETED FILES: Erase deleted pictures, videos, call logs and messages, calendar, reminder, Safari bookmark, voice memo, apps, notes, etc. making them unrecoverable.

Step 3 – Select a security level for removing entire data on your device

There are three security levels for removing entire data on your device. You can select any of them as per your requirements. The higher levels will ask for more time.

Low: Overwrite entire data with zeros to make sure that the files are not recoverable.

Medium: Overwrite device with junk files to assure that the files are not recoverable, and no one knows that you’ve erased your device.

High: Overwrite and erase device three times, and security standard is based on the U.S. DOD 5220.22-M, more secure for the private data destruction on the device.

If you select ERASE DELETED FILES, then the Wondershare SafeEraser scan the device, and show entire files you have deleted.

After scanning the deleted files, you can select unnecessary data to erase.

Step 4 – Erase data on your device

And then click on the Start button. To sure that you have backed up the important data and still want to move forward, you require typing a word shown in the input box and click Confirm. Now, the program begins erasing the entire data on your device as given below.



Related Posts

Business Software

How To Generate High Resolution Barcode Labels?

Barcodes are widely used because of various benefits they provide to business organizations. It manages business product inventory information with accuracy and efficiency. It is a unique combination of black and white bars and is Read more…

Business Software

Is Edraw Max A Solid Diagramming Replacement For Visio?

Nowadays, the majority users are fond of using atleast one Microsoft product or another. But when time comes about designing a network then the first thing comes in mind of user for diagramming is Microsoft Read more…

Business Software

How to Generate Professional Barcode on Mac

Barcode is an optical machine readable representation of the data. Generally the barcodes show the data parallel lines and even referred as the linear or 1D (1 dimensional) barcodes or symbols.  It also comes in Read more…

Business Software

How To Transfer Files From iPhone To The All New HTC One M8 (Eye)

Are you really frustrated with the over-popular iPhone which can be seen from time to time everywhere? Have you ever think of getting a new mobile phone like the All New HTC One? You have Read more…